Important Information

The Government announced on Friday 13 March 2020 that the local elections scheduled for 7 May 2020 have been postponed for a year until May 2021, due to the current and emerging situation around COVID-19. We understand that the necessary legislation will be approved imminently and this website will be updated when we have more information.

Local government in Northamptonshire is facing its biggest change in over 40 years.

The eight existing councils – Wellingborough, Corby, Daventry, East Northants, Kettering, Northampton, Northamptonshire County and South Northants – will be replaced with two brand new unitary councils.

Government legislation has now been passed to create a new West Northamptonshire unitary council serving the areas of Daventry District, Northampton and South Northants, and a new North Northamptonshire unitary authority serving Wellingborough, Kettering, Corby and East Northants. These two new councils will start providing services to the residents and businesses of Northamptonshire on 1 April 2021.

On 7 May this year residents in Northamptonshire will be able to vote for the councillors who will serve on the new unitary authorities.

Why are changes being made?

The existing eight councils are working together on preparations to create the two new councils. The new unitary councils will be responsible for all public services provided to residents in their areas – currently these are split between the district and borough councils and the county council, which can seem fragmented to residents, as well as being more costly to deliver in some cases.

Joining these services up in a unitary system will provide more efficient service delivery for our residents and businesses, with considerable opportunities to develop and transform services to improve outcomes and increase value for money.

The plans also include joining up frontline NHS and council services for residents and creating a Children’s Service Trust that will act on behalf of the two new unitary councils to provide vital services for youngsters countywide.

What are the next steps?

Now that Government approval has been given, the next stage will be to set up two new councils to lead the work.

Elections will take place on Thursday, 7 May where you will be able to vote for the councillors that sit on these new councils. The West and North councils will run alongside the county, district and boroughs until the existing councils are abolished on 1 April 2021.

The Councillors elected by residents to these councils will automatically become the elected members of the new unitary authorities from 1 April 2021.

New information will be added to this site so please visit regularly for the latest updates. To find out more about the unitary process, go to the ‘Information’ section.


  • 3b
  • 2b
  • 1a
  • 4b
  • 5b